My career is in ruins…

Last night I got back from 4 days in New Orleans where, in addition to having delicious beignets, chicory coffee, gumbo and a gator poorboy, I attended the annual meeting of the Archaeological Institute of America.

Although I know nothing of archaeology in South-East Asia, I attended the keynote lecture on Angkor and the Khmer civilisation of Cambodia (Angkor Wat is on my bucket list). It was an excellent talk and I learned new things.  I also attended the reception, where I met up with friends.  Some of us crashed the U of T Classics alum party… but we knew nobody there (even though Emily and I are U of T grads).  The Egyptology programme at U of T is in the Near and Middle Eastern Civilizations department and we have little to do with Classics. I never actually took a class in that department

Most of the talks I attended were about the Roman Republic or Empire and Greek ceramics. However, being in charge of the collections of the ancient Americas at the NCMA, I also sat in on a session about New World archaeology where I learned stuff about the Maya civilisation and Easter Island.  I also browsed the kiosks of the book vendors and the AIA souvenir counter, where I saw hilarious magnets, some of which I bought for my fridge magnet collection.

There were the cute ones…

Magnets

 

 

 

 

and the ‘must-have’ one for the female archaeologists who happen to like 80s music…

MaterialCulture

 

 

 

 

However, my absolute favourite was this one:

Ruins

 

 

 

 

It made me laugh out loud. Obviously…

humerus

 

 

 

 

Very humorous, indeed!!!!!

Leave a Reply

