Snowing Dogs and More Dogs

This is on my to-do list for this spring: go up to Michigan to see the exhibition and meet colleagues! I’m looking forward to it.

Kelsey Museum

BY MARLENE MICHELS GOLDSMITH, Volunteer Docent, Kelsey Museum of Archaeology, University of Michigan

"Death Dogs" poster (left) and lamppost banner outside the Kelsey Museum (right). “Death Dogs” poster (left) and lamppost banner outside the Kelsey Museum (right).

As I write this, it seems to be snowing dogs and more dogs inside and outside of the Kelsey Museum, all in preparation for our upcoming special exhibition: Death Dogs: The Jackal Gods of Ancient Egypt, opening Friday, February 6.

Let me tell you why.

Our docent class was cancelled today due to a morning snowstorm, but by afternoon I managed to trek to the museum. Death Dogs banners greeted me everywhere! Up on the second floor, I found Exhibitions Coordinator Scott Meier busy mounting some electrifying background art. Even though no artifacts yet graced the space, I definitely found myself in ancient Egypt. That’s when I pulled out my camera phone.

I’m not an academic, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen an…

View original post 292 more words

One thought on “Snowing Dogs and More Dogs

  1. Pingback: Death Dogs and a bunch of cool people | An Archaeologist's Diary

Leave a Reply

