International Congress of Egyptologists

My volunteer work has kept me away from my computer. Actually, let me rephrase that. It hasn’t kept me away from the computer, it’s kept me so busy that I didn’t even have time to blog! However, this alone isn’t the reason of my rather sporadic posting activities. I thought I would backtrack a little and tell you what I have been up to.

Banner of the International Congress of Egyptologists hanging at the University of Florence

Banner of the International Congress of Egyptologists hanging at the University of Florence

Back in August, I attended the International Congress of Egyptologists, which was held in Florence, Italy. It was my first time at the ICE and it was a bit of a zoo! There were something like 750 Egyptologists attending… can you imagine? Despite the large number of people that made it difficult to find a seat as we hopped from lecture hall to lecture hall (which meant that people left during the question periods, so as to get a seat when they got to another room—which I thought was a little rude), there were some really good papers. Some were about recent archaeological discovered, other on really great topics… there were so many to chose from!

Of course, being in Italy, we ate very well and the coffee break spread at the conference was absolutely amazing!  Baristas making espressos and cappuccinos (can you believe it?), lots of sweet treats (but not too sweet), fruits and yogurt, finger sandwiches…  All in all, it was a good conference.

Leave a Reply

