Working on a rainy Monday

Today was a rainy and gloomy Monday… but a couple of things kept me busy all day so I barely noticed the rain. I spent most of the day reading applications submitted by university students interested in the curatorial internship I am offering at the museum next term.  Some candidates were excellent, others were excellent but not qualified in ancient studies and others were… well, not qualified at all.

One thing that bugged me today as I reviewed applications was that I had to refuse one–from  a student who was qualified and had a perfectly good application that was submitted on time–because their documentation was incomplete…. but through no fault of their own.  Because their professor never sent in their recommendation letter… Professors are busy, yes.  But if you’re too busy tell the student that you can’t do it so they can ask another prof who has less on their plate. That way their chances at an interesting learning opportunity won’t be ruined because of your tight schedule…  Frustrating.

The end of the day got a little more frustrating because our internet crashed and for an hour before I left I couldn’t send notices out to the students.  Instead, I changed task and looked up some references in archaeology journals to include in a peer review for an article I looked at this weekend.  I did find what I needed but because the internet was still out and it was 5pm, so I thought it was time to head out to the gym.   Now perhaps I should get back to that peer review….

One thought on “Working on a rainy Monday

  1. I hope today will be a happier day for you. It’s bright, sunny and absurdly warm in Toronto. And so far, the Internet is working. Take good care of yourself!
    gayle

Leave a Reply

