An afternoon with Agatha Christie

On Sunday, I went to the Montréal Museum of Archaeology and History and spent part of the afternoon with the Queen of Crime, Agatha Christie, in the exhibition Investigating Agatha Christie. I have been a fan of Hercule Poirot for decades–and have been re-reading all volumes in order these last couple of years–and, evidently, I know of Christie’s work on her second husband’s archaeological digs.

IMG_20151220_154829

Photo taken by my brother, who tagged along for the afternoon.

The exhibition was interesting because it presented Agatha Christie beyond archaeology (I wished there had been more of that, though).  We learned more about her as a girl (with great family pictures to go with the information) and while I knew she had been trained as a nurse, I didn’t realise that she also had a degree in pharmacology.  No wonder there is murder by poison in several of her novels!

The second floor was dedicated to archaeology, Near Eastern archaeology to be precise because Sir Max Mallowan worked at Ur, Niniveh, and Nimrud (among other places), but there is a small section on Egypt as well.  Artefacts from the British Museum in London as well as the Royal Ontario Museum in Toronto were displayed in this archeological section. There were great excavation photos and I did notice on a wall panel a mention that certain archaeological sites presented in the exhibition had been destroyed by Daesh this past year (many people gasped at reading this).  That touched me particularly…

I visited on my own, but there was a guided tour at my heels and I did eavesdrop a little (it was hard not to!).  Should you plan to visit the exhibition, do take the guided tour–it sounded like great fun! The exhibition brings remarkable context to the literary work of this prolific author and it’s worth a visit if you’re a fan of Poirot, Miss Marple or anything else written by Agatha Christie.

 

2 thoughts on “An afternoon with Agatha Christie

  1. Thank you for this positive review. As the ROM’s curator for the Ancient Near East I have followed the development of this exhibit with great interest, and I am glad that we able to contribute a sizable loan of some of our best artifacts from Nimrud and other sites to this exhibit. I look forward to seeing it in person in due course …..

    • You’re welcome! I knew there were some British Museum objects in the exhibition but hadn’t realized there were some from the ROM’s collection as well. I still feel a sense of pride when I see the ROM’s collection around the globe even if I haven’t worked there since 2007! Hope you enjoy the show when you see it…

Leave a Reply

