Art in Bloom 2016 (Etruria and Rome)

In this third and last post about floral designs inspired by ancient art, I’m presenting those found in the Classical galleries.  They include one Etruscan piece and four marble sculptures–the last one being my absolute favourite for 2016.

Inspired by the Antefix in the Shape of a Satyr’s Head
By Michael Whaley

While I can see the shape of the satyr’s head and his messed up hair in the floral arrangement, I have to admit that it did not inspire me one bit.  I didn’t like the use the of flat green leaves to create the shape.  However, by the comments I overheard, the design was pleasing to other people…

Inspired by the Bust of Marcus Aurelius
By Angela Marchesi

I liked this one, but I’m not quite sure why… The use of the red anthuriums brought a little regal touch to the composition and I liked the addition of the papyrus… (I think it’s papyrus… the name of the plants used the arrangement was not listed on the label.)  Marcus Aurelius visited Egypt (at the very least Alexandria) during the revolt led by Avidius Cassius. The designer also used thistles and although the Roman presence in Scotland was intermittent, I find the use of this plant interesting here (thistles were quite popular this year). To me, it sort of spoke of the width and breadth of the Roman Empire.  I wish the designer would have included a description of her design and she pulled inspiration from… me, I’m probably reading too much history in all of this!

Inspired by Torso of an Emperor in the Guise of Jupiter
By Sarah Callahan

This floral composition is wonderful and very imaginative!  The florist described her composition as the god Jupiter  gazing down at the emperor… you can totally see Jupiter in the tall column with its planet-like flowers and grasses.  The emperor would be the smaller column. Very delightful!

Inspired by Aeschylus
By Brian Hyde

DSCN4810I quite like this floral arrangement… the pussy willow branches have always been some of my favourite plants (they grew near my house when I was a kid).  The colour–a wonderful dark green–and the velvety texture of the composition are very soothing. It’s almost like the forest had become very Zen.  The arrangement is simple but very elegant.  It’s right up my alley.

However, I’m not quite sure I get the connection with Aeschylus, the Greek tragedian (he wrote between 70 and 90 plays, but only seven survive).

Inspired by the Mosaic
By Steve Taras

This last floral design is my absolutely favourite of Art in Bloom 2016!  It is wonderful in so many ways.  The use of the marble trays speaks to one of the materials in the mosaic and the colourful flowers are like the glass tesserae that create the pattern.  While the stems are cur short, the flowers are not crammed in the trays like sardines… they breathe… and they actually look like colourful cupcakes in an elaborate cupcake tree!  The levels and vertical lines are also reminiscent of Classical architecture.  The whole arrangement speaks to me… it is superb!

That’s it for Art in Bloom 2016.

 

One thought on “Art in Bloom 2016 (Etruria and Rome)

Leave a Reply

