The future of gallery teaching

This morning, I was in the NCMA’s Egyptian galleries teaching a class of students at Havelock High School (which is about 2 and half hours east of Raleigh)… using our very nifty SECU mobile distance learning cart.  The class had already 3D-printed a replica of the Amulet of Isis and Horus (which we scanned back in February) but they could see the original in the vitrine next to me as I talked about it.

We also chatted about Nehebkau (another amulet) and one of the school groups visiting the galleries with their art teacher stopped to listen to me… and then photobombed the lesson when they realised I was actually talking to other high school kids. It was hilarious… everyone was waving at each other… and Emily and I were laughing. Yes, ancient Egypt is that fun!

Thanks, Emily, for taking the pictures and manning the cart!

3 thoughts on “The future of gallery teaching

  1. How exciting for these students. I am sure they all appreciated your talk. I found that the younger children age 8 to 12 were very attentive and in awe when they were allowed to handle Roman and Medieval pottery when I last had a class to lecture to. But that was many years ago when the hands on living history had just begun. I loved the feed back I got from them. Thanks for sharing this post with us.

    • I think hands-on activities are still relevant in museums today… at least for those who are able to visit in person. One of my goals is to offer to kids and grown-ups an archaeology lab on a regular basis… it’s slow progress, but it’s coming along.

Leave a Reply

