What I did this weekend: Excavating Kush

On Sunday, I was invited to lecture at the  Michael C. Carlos Museum at Emory University for the American Research Center in Egypt, Georgia Chapter.  My talk, however, was not on ancient Egypt, but on ancient Sudan. I was happy to lecture about Nubia because it seems I’m always talking about Egypt! It was entitled Excavating Kush: Exploring the Architectural Landscape of Nubia and focused on the sites of Meroe and Dangeil, where I have worked. It was well attended by enthusiastic people, which was great.

It was a long weekend, mostly because it’s a 6 hour drive to Atlanta and I spent a lot of time on the road.  Actually, it’s about the same time one spends on the bus from Khartoum to Dangeil! Ha!

Leave a Reply

